There are 12 main meridians in our body - two for each Element except the Fire Element that has four. 

In Chinese medicine these 12 meridians are given personalities as though they are 12 officials working in a kingdom, each with its own job and duties contributing towards the collective good of the person.

Let s now consider the energy of each of the seasons in the context of the seasons cycle and the meridians of the body.
The Five Elements in Nature
The Chinese believe there are five seasons - Autumn, Winter, Spring, Summer (the four we commonly talk about) and Late Summer.  

Behind each of the seasons there is an elemental energy; the Five Elements - Fire, Earth, Metal, Water and Wood actually creating each of them.  By observing nature we can see these five energies in the world around us and also see how these same energies are reflected within our own bodies and personalities.
We can then look to ourselves and see what of these energies is strong or low in our life.  Which season do we long for?  Which or is our least favorite?  How do we react to the hope of Spring, the excitement of Summer, the quietness of Winter?
Below is a page on each of the
5 Elements, Seasons and the Officials

Wood and Spring

Fire and Summer

Earth and Late Summer

Metal and Autumn

Water and Winter
The ancient Chinese knew that observing and understanding Nature was one of the ways for us to understand ourselves.